The Principles

A Unique Child; recognisesthat every child is a unique child who is consistently learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self - assured.

Positive Relationships; describes how children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.

Enabling Environments;describes how children learn well in enabling environments, in which their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners, parents and carers.




Embedded with the Principles


There are seven areas of learning development that must shape educational programs in early year’s settings. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning and for building their capacity to learn, from relationships and thrive. These three areas, prime areas, are:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal development, social and emotional development

Providers must also support children in four specific areas, through which the areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

Educational programmes must involve activities and experiences for children, as follows:

  • Communication and Language; development involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak listen in a range of situations.
  • Physical development; involves providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive; and to develop their so-ordination, control, and movement. Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity and to make healthy choices in relation to food.
  • Personal, social and emotional development; involves helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves and others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and to have confidence in their own abilities.
  • Literacy; development involves encouraging children to link sounds and letters and to begin to read and write. Children must be given access to a wide range of reading Materials (books, poems and other written materials) to ignite their interest.
  • Mathematics; involves providing children with opportunities to develop and improve their counting skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems and to describe shapes, spaces and measures.
  • Understanding the World; involves guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology.
  • Expressive Arts and Design; involves enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role-play, and design and technology.

Jolly Phonics; is a fun way to learn letter sounds and is a great way to prepare your child for ‘Big School’. Many Primary schools us jolly Phonics to teach reading. The children learn 40+ sounds of the English language rather than the alphabet. They are then taken through the stages of blending and segmenting words to develop reading and writing skills. The sounds are taught in a specific order (not alphabetically). This enables children to begin building words as early as possible. Using synthetic phonics approach. Jolly Phonics teaches children the five key skills for reading and writing. We believe at Edu-Fun that this program alongside the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) will prepare children effectively to get into ‘Big School’. Each parent will receive a Parents Support Pack to Jolly phonics.

How incorporate the Montessori Method with Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

This method of teaching helps the children become independent by teaching him/her life skills, which is called practical life.

Montessori children lean practical life skills such as; how to dress themselves, help prepare food and how to set a table, put away toys and activities and to take an active part in their classroom/household.

For young children Montessori is a hand’s on approach to leaning it encourages children to develop their observation skills by engaging in many types of activities. These activities include use of the five senses kinetic movement, spatial refinement small and gross motor skill co-ordination.

In a Montessori setting, the teacher prepares and presents the materials needed for each child to carry out their work, and offers them to the child in the form of individual or small group presentations. Once an initial presentation or lesson has been given the activities are freely chosen by the child and frequently repeated according to your child’s needs.